British Insurance Awards 2018: Full list of winners, their stories and photos

24 the achievement award

Former Churchill and LV general insurance boss John O’Roarke, pictured, took home the Achievement prize last night at the British Insurance Awards, where his new employer Aviva was among the big winners.

Aviva, for whom O’Roarke is now a non-executive director, took home three awards including General Insurer of the Year, Digital Insurance Innovation of the Year and Customer Care Award.

Elsewhere, the Chartered Insurance Institute’s CEO Sian Fisher was crowned Insurance Personality of the Year and Thomas Carroll was named Insurance Broker of the Year, in front of over 1600 people at the Royal Albert Hall.

Phil Bunker, who is now part of the investment consortium ABC Investors with O’Roarke, and a former colleague at Churchill and LV, told Post: “John is one of the most approachable and ego-free CEOs that the insurance industry has ever seen. He is comfortable mixing and socialising with every person in the room, no matter what your status or role. He builds incredibly loyal and dedicated teams of people.”

Hailing his time at LV as possibly his greatest achievement, Bunker added: “Under his leadership, a sleepy single-channel insurer in Poole tripled in size and was transformed into a formidable multi-channel, multi-product business, which was consistently at the top of consumer award rankings. But more important to John, it was a business that staff loved working for, brokers loved working with, and that was truly focused on its customers.”

Talking about Fisher’s success, CII board member David Smith commented: “Sian has addressed the CEO role at the CII with vigour and a rare balance of speed and empathy. New strategy, new premises, refreshed executive team, increased corporate governance are all tangible examples of this.

“She has truly energised the CII and increased its profile with her unique and charismatic style, and there is a lot more to come.”

Photos from the night:

See the photos from the event and tag yourself.

Learn what the winners did to land their prizes:

Broking: Insurance Broker - UK; Commercial Lines Broker, SME/Mid-corporate; Personal Lines Broker; Lloyd’s and London Market Broking Team

Claims: Claims Initiative – Insurer; Claims Initiative – Outsourced Partner; Major Loss; Risk Management

Communication: Brand Management; Customer Care; Business Sustainability/CSR Initiative

Future: Digital Insurance Innovation; Technology; Insurance Start-Up

Making it work: Transformational Deal; Outsourced Partner

Workforce: Investing in the Profession; Diversity

Insurers: Commercial Lines Insurer; Personal Lines Insurer; General Insurer

People: Personality; Young Achiever; Achievement

The full list of winners:

Risk Management Award (sponsored by FM Global)

Northern Ireland Water

Digital Insurance Innovation of the Year (sponsored by Aviva)


The Technology Award (sponsored by BGL)

The London Market Group   

Transformational Deal of the Year

The Ardonagh Group

Insurance Start-Up Award (sponsored by Weightmans)

Digital Risks

Brand Management Award (sponsored by Lamb Brandformula)


Business Sustainability / Corporate Social Responsibility Initiative of the Year (sponsored by The Ardonagh Group)

Centor Insurance and Risk Management 

Investing in the Profession Award (sponsored by the Chartered Insurance Institute)

Lloyd & Whyte 

Diversity Award

The Chartered Institute of Loss Adjusters

Young Achiever of the Year (sponsored by Kennedy’s)

RSA’s Jaymin Patel

Insurance Personality of the Year (sponsored by Close Brothers)

Chartered Insurance Institute’s CEO Sian Fisher

Customer Care Award

Aviva Property Claims

Claims Initiative of the Year – Outsourced Partner

Disastercare Platinum

Claims Initiative of the Year – Insurer (sponsored by Clyde & Co)

RSA and RSA Motability

The Major Loss Award

Sedgwick, G4S and Allianz Global Corporate & Specialty

Outsourced Partner of the Year


Commercial Lines Broker of the Year – SME/Mid-Corporate (sponsored by RSA)

Stackhouse Poland

Personal Lines Broker of the Year (sponsored by LV)

BGL Group

Lloyd’s and London Market Broking Team of the Year (sponsored by Tokio Marine HCC)


Commercial Lines Insurer of the Year (sponsored by Livingbridge)

Allianz Insurance

Personal Lines Insurer of the Year (sponsored by Autowindscreens)

Covéa Insurance

Insurance Broker of the Year (sponsored by Aviva)

Thomas Carroll Group  

General Insurer of the Year (sponsored by DAC Beachcroft)


The Achievement Award (sponsored by Verisk)

John O’Roarke

  • LinkedIn  
  • Save this article
  • Print this page  

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact [email protected] or view our subscription options here:

You are currently unable to copy this content. Please contact [email protected] to find out more.

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have an Insurance Post account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here: