Heather Wheeler succeeds Evans as chair of APPG on insurance & financial service


Heather Wheeler, the MP for Derbyshire South and a former Lloyd’s broker, has been elected the new chair of the All Party Parliamentary Group on Insurance and Financial Services.

She succeeds Jonathan Evans MP, who stood down from his constituency of Cardiff North at the last election.

Wheeler, is joined by returning officers Lord Hunt of Wirral and Sir Edward Leigh MP, as well as Louise Haigh, the Labour MP for Sheffield Heeley, who was elected a new officer representing the opposition.

Haigh previously worked in for Aviva where she looked after corporate governance, making sure the group had a responsible investment policy.

She joins Conservatives Craig Tracey, the MP for North Warwickshire & Bedworth and Ranil Jayawardena, MP for North East Hampshire, as new members of the group.

Tracey, sold his broking business Dunelm to Academy earlier this year and recently spoke to Insurance Age about his plans to stick up for the interests of small business, whilst Jayawardena, worked for Lloyds Banking Group.

If you would like to be kept up to date with the activities of the group please email: [email protected]

  • LinkedIn  
  • Save this article
  • Print this page  

Only users who have a paid subscription or are part of a corporate subscription are able to print or copy content.

To access these options, along with all other subscription benefits, please contact [email protected] or view our subscription options here: http://subscriptions.postonline.co.uk/subscribe

You need to sign in to use this feature. If you don’t have an Insurance Post account, please register for a trial.

Sign in
You are currently on corporate access.

To use this feature you will need an individual account. If you have one already please sign in.

Sign in.

Alternatively you can request an individual account here: